Champaign County Hit by Uninsured Driver Lawyer
When you’re involved in a car accident and the other party is at fault, you might assume that their insurance company will pay for your damages. But what if they are underinsured or have no insurance coverage at all?
You might think this would never happen to you, but it could, given that nearly 12% of drivers in Illinois are uninsured. Many drivers cannot afford auto insurance, but they risk getting hit by penalties for driving without insurance. Illinois law requires that you carry proof of Illinois auto insurance. If you fail to do so, you can be fined a minimum of $500, and your license plates can be suspended for a maximum of four months.
So what should you do if you are involved in a crash with an uninsured motorist? First of all, don’t panic. A Champaign County hit by uninsured driver lawyer from Patel Law, PC can help you understand your legal options.
Illinois Insurance Laws
Compared to most other states, Illinois requires a significant amount of auto insurance coverage. The minimum requirements include:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 property damage liability
Unlike most states, Illinois also requires all drivers to have the following uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages:
- $25,000/$50,000 underinsured motorist coverage
- $25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $15,000 with a $250 deductible for uninsured motorist property damage
If you carry the minimum amount of insurance coverage, then you should have uninsured and underinsured coverage. This means that if the at-fault driver has no insurance or not enough insurance, then you will be covered up to your policy’s limits. In addition, if you are hit by a hit-and-run driver and the driver cannot be located, your damages will be covered.
However, it’s possible that your damages will not be fully covered. Therefore, your only other option is to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. Note that in Illinois, there are statutes of limitations that apply. If you take legal action, you need to file within two years of the date of the accident for injuries and within five years of the date of the accident for property damage.
While you do have the option to sue, keep in mind that there are no guarantees of getting your money. An uninsured driver likely has no auto insurance because they cannot afford it. Therefore, it will be hard to obtain tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars in compensation from someone who has limited resources. So consider this before filing a lawsuit.
Contact Patel Law, PC Today
If you are hit by an uninsured driver, getting full compensation can be difficult. Even if you have uninsured motorist insurance, your damages may exceed your coverage. What now?
This can be a stressful situation. A Champaign County hit by uninsured driver lawyer from Patel Law, PC can help you file a lawsuit and aggressively pursue damages. Get started with a free consultation. Fill out our online form or call (217) 384-1111 to contact our office.