Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Illinois Personal Injury & Criminal Defense / Champaign County Hit & Run Lawyer

Champaign County Hit and Run Accidents Lawyer

Getting a driver’s license is a huge privilege that comes with a lot of rules and responsibilities. Many of them come into play after a car accident. For example, if you are involved in a car accident, you must remain at the scene until police arrive or until you have exchanged information (such as your name, contact information, driver’s license information, and insurance information) with other drivers involved.

If a driver does not stop and instead flees the accident scene, they can face various penalties, depending on the degree of the victim’s injuries. When a driver does not stop, the victim does not receive timely medical attention. In many cases, they die from their injuries.

Another thing to consider is that when an at-fault driver does not stop, the other motorists and passengers involved may not know how to go about getting compensation for injuries and other damages. That’s where a Champaign County hit-and-run accidents lawyer can help. Contact Patel Law, PC for help with your car crash case.

Illinois Hit and Run Penalties

A driver who hits another vehicle, bicyclist or pedestrian can face a variety of penalties if they flee the accident scene. These penalties are based on the situation and degree of harm.

  • Accidents with an unattended vehicle. If you get into a crash with an unattended vehicle, such as in a parking lot, and fail to leave a note with your information, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which could mean up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

  • Accidents that cause property damage. If you get into an accident that causes property damage, and you fail to stop, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. The penalties include up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. However, if you cause more than $1,000 in property damage, then your driver’s license will be suspended.

  • Accidents that cause injury. If an accident caused injury, and you failed to stop, you’re looking at a Class 4 felony. The penalties are harsher and include up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000, as well as a revoked driver’s license. Also, if the accident is not reported to the police, you’ll face a Class 2 felony, which comes with penalties such as three to seven years in prison, a fine of up to $25,000, and a revoked driver’s license.

  • Accidents that cause death. If you fail to stop for an accident that results in death, this is also a Class 4 felony. The penalties are the same as above. However, if you fail to report the accident to the police, you’ll be charged with a Class 1 felony and face additional penalties, including four to 15 years in prison, a $25,000 fine, and a revoked driver’s license.

Contact Patel Law, PC Today

A hit-and-run accident can inflict serious damage and injuries to the victim, as well as various penalties to the hit-and-run driver.

Contact a Champaign County hit-and-run accident lawyer from Patel Law, PC to learn more about your legal options. Schedule a free consultation by calling (217) 384-1111 or filling out the online form.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn