Champaign County Distracted Driving Accidents Lawyer
When you get behind the wheel of a vehicle, you need to be fully focused on the act of driving. You shouldn’t be doing other things, like texting, brushing your teeth, or eating.
When you do other things besides driving, you are acting in a dangerous manner. You are compromising the safety of others on the roadway. This is called distracted driving, and it’s a serious situation that kills more than 3,000 people every year.
Have you been injured in an accident caused by distracted driving? If so, make sure you obtain the compensation you deserve. A Champaign County distracted driving accident lawyer from Patel Law, PC can help you with your case.
Types of Distracted Driving
The most common form of distracted driving is smartphone use, primarily texting. Some other types of distracted driving include the following:
- Talking to passengers
- Dealing with pets or children
- Eating or drinking
- Looking at something outside the vehicle (such as an accident)
- Watching a video
- Changing the radio station
- Adjusting the navigation/GPS
- Brushing your hair or other grooming activities
Illinois Distracted Driving Laws
Illinois has strict distracted driving laws. Hands-free devices with Bluetooth technology are allowed for persons aged 19 and older. Those under the age of 18 cannot use smartphones at all while driving.
Illinois’ distracted driving laws state that:
- All drivers are prohibited from using handheld electronic communication devices while behind the wheel.
- All drivers are prohibited from reading, sending, or receiving text messages or other communication while behind the wheel.
- All drivers are prohibited from browsing the internet while behind the wheel.
- All drivers are prohibited from using any type of phone in any manner while driving in school speed zones and construction zones.
- School bus drivers cannot use any type of cell phone while behind the wheel.
- It is illegal to use a cell phone when driving within 500 feet of an emergency scene. Taking photos or videos on wireless devices is also prohibited.
There are fines involved for those who receive a distracted driving citation. They are as follows:
- First offense: $75
- Second offense: $100
- Third offense: $125
- Fourth and subsequent offenses: $150
If distracted driving leads to an accident that causes injuries or death, the penalties increase to a $1,000 fine plus a one-year license suspension. In addition, distracted driving is considered a moving violation. If you get three moving violations in one year, you can get your driver’s license suspended.
Contact Patel Law, PC Today
Distracted driving is an issue that people don’t take seriously enough. You might think you are doing good by multitasking, but taking your eyes off the road and your hands off the wheel can have dire consequences.
This type of reckless driving can result in serious or even fatal crashes. If you have been affected, seek legal help from a Champaign County distracted driving accident lawyer from Patel Law, PC. We’ll help you understand your legal options. Call (217) 384-1111 or fill out our online form to schedule a consultation.